Theft

Show Submenu

Theft

A person’s punishment for the criminal charge of theft in Texas depends on the value of the item allegedly stolen. Accordingly, the more value the item(s) have, the higher and more severe the punishment is provided for by the Texas Penal Code.

In Texas, a person may be charged with theft if they are found to have taken someone else’s property without his or her permission with intent to deprive the owner of the property. A theft offense in Texas is punished in the following manner:

  • Theft under $100 is a Class C Misdemeanor (punishable by a fine up to $500).
  • Theft between $100 and $750 is a Class B Misdemeanor (punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine).
  • Theft between $750 and $2,500 s a Class A Misdemeanor (punishable by up to one year in jail and a $4,000 fine).
  • Theft between $2,500 and $30,000 is a State Jail Felony (punishable by not more than two years or less than 180 days and up to a $10,000 fine).
  • Theft between $30,000 and $150,000 is a Third Degree Felony (punishable by not more than 10 years or less than two years and up to a $10,000 fine).
  • Theft between $150,000 and $300,000 is a Second Degree Felony (punishable by not more than 20 years or less than two years and up to a $10,000 fine).
  • Theft over $300,000 is a First Degree Felony (punishable by not more than 99 years or less than five years and up to a $10,000 fine).

Theft convictions can have a serious impact on a person’s future and job prospects, as they can affect job opportunities. Don’t waste any time and call us at 915.274.0110 for a free consultation!

We are members of: